issues with gtranslate installation

Popular automatic website translation tool

issues with gtranslate installation

Postby souleye » Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:09 am

I'm working on a site for a client with translation needs. we got the free version, client wasn't happy with results. now we upgraded to pro version. in the settings there's an api key field but I'm not sure he ever got an api key. when we select a language, we get a 404 page not found error. reading your instructions I learn that gtranslate must be uploaded to the root directory. which gtranslate? the free or pro version? in which case what part of the installation goes to the root folder? any assistance will be appreciated. thanks.
souleye
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 2:53 am

Re: issues with gtranslate installation

Postby Yana » Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:33 am

hi,,
API key is an optional feature . GTranslate Pro works without API.
You can find GTranslate Pro documentation here: http://gtranslate.net/docs/57-gtranslat ... umentation

If you have a problem with the installation we can install it for you .
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please post a review at the Joomla Extensions Directory. It is very important for us!
Yana
 
Posts: 3038
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: issues with gtranslate installation

Postby souleye » Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:59 am

please let me know what you need me to do. thanks.
souleye
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 2:53 am

Re: issues with gtranslate installation

Postby Yana » Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:24 pm

Hi,
If you want me to install GTranslate Pro for you, please send FTP access and backend admin username password. Please use our contact form on homepage.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please post a review at the Joomla Extensions Directory. It is very important for us!
Yana
 
Posts: 3038
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm

Re: issues with gtranslate installation

Postby souleye » Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:37 pm

thank you but I went ahead, read carefully your documentation and followed every step and it was installed successfully. it loads a little slow, which brings a few questions.
is the ioncube loader slowing it down?
would it load faster on a virtual server as opposed to a shared server?
ideally we would move to a dedicated server but not at the present time.
does the enterprise version load faster?
does removing the languages that may not be used fasten the process?
thank you for your answer to these questions.
souleye
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 2:53 am

Re: issues with gtranslate installation

Postby Yana » Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:02 pm

Hi,
Usually it is slow on the first run. But when your site is translated and the translations are cached it will be almost the same speed your website is. You can remove unwanted languages from sitemap.txt to save the traffic. Please do not delete individual language folders from cache.
As to our new Enterprise version, translation cache will be kept on our cloud network. Our servers are faster and optimized for the translation purposes, so they are faster in delivering the translations comparing with Pro installed on your server.
Regards,

Yana Ghahramanyan - GTranslate Team

Please post a review at the Joomla Extensions Directory. It is very important for us!
Yana
 
Posts: 3038
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:21 pm


  • Related Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

2GLux
cron